Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th June 2006, 05:37 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to johninCR Send a message via MSN to johninCR Send a message via Yahoo to johninCR
Default Tombstone RLH

I've been having trouble visualizing how to make a good looking RLH with the added "supra baffles". I understand the need to get the "baffle action" down to where the "horn action" falls off. I can also easily foresee a lot of work going into this added baffle, so I thought "Why not incorporate it into the cab itself?". I'm calling it the Tombstone RLH.

I'm no horn designer, so I want to copy the critical horn dimensions from an existing design such as Ron's A126. The following is what I came up with. Note that the added volume directly behind the CC can be used to vary the CC size. It obviously isn't drawn to scale, but the layout is flexible enough to scale the basic folding approach to almost any horn, and get the added benefit of horn pathways that are closer to square than typical constant width RLH's while keeping the construction fairly simple.

Does anyone see any pitfalls that I may not be considering? Is there anything inherently wrong with bifurcating the first 2/3rds of a horn?

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 12th June 2006, 11:36 PM   #2
jamikl is offline jamikl  Australia
diyAudio Member