Tombstone RLH

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been having trouble visualizing how to make a good looking RLH with the added "supra baffles". I understand the need to get the "baffle action" down to where the "horn action" falls off. I can also easily foresee a lot of work going into this added baffle, so I thought "Why not incorporate it into the cab itself?". I'm calling it the Tombstone RLH.

I'm no horn designer, so I want to copy the critical horn dimensions from an existing design such as Ron's A126. The following is what I came up with. Note that the added volume directly behind the CC can be used to vary the CC size. It obviously isn't drawn to scale, but the layout is flexible enough to scale the basic folding approach to almost any horn, and get the added benefit of horn pathways that are closer to square than typical constant width RLH's while keeping the construction fairly simple.

Does anyone see any pitfalls that I may not be considering? Is there anything inherently wrong with bifurcating the first 2/3rds of a horn?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Interesting idea John. I would like to know how it works out if you build it. Hasn.t created any response - I don't know why. the famous Klipsch corner horn was bifurcated for about two thirds of its length. I had a copy fo the papers he wrote about the design and he didn't seem to think that splitting it caused any problems. I think Dinsdale or one of the other British designers did an ugly looking one that was bifucated in the sixties or seventies. One speaker rear lodaded for the bass with an upward firing mid horn on the other side of the speaketr. I think it was in Wireless World. Designer may have been Crabbe. Hope this helps you make a decision.
jamikl

jamikl,