another problematic question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been doing intensive researches of a fullranger for over two years now... and of course i couldn't find a conclusion, but i've managed to make an ideea of what I want.

I listen mainly classic rock and acoustic guitar, piano muzic (from led zeppelin, deep purple, rolling stones ac/dc to eric clapton, al di meola, santana, paco de lucia and then tori amos, loreena mckennit and so on), but jazz too. Quite a lot of genres, but not pop music, house and the rest... I'm telling you this because I think it's important in choosing a driver and a cabinet.

I must say that I will power them with a JFET ZV9 amp and that I am used mainly with bookshelf speakers (nothing bigger than 6,5'') and headphones (so maybe I won't feel a lack in bass...although I always wanted more bass from my bookshelfs )

So I have resumed to these options (my budget is somwhere between 300 and 400Eur for the drivers)

Even if I know FE108ez has a great midrange detail (and would do justice for vocals), I don't think a 4" driver is suitable for my kind of music taste...

1. Fostex FE168EZ in recomended BLH, or one of Terry's Cain designs.
2. Visaton B200 or Hemp FR8 in an Open Baffle. (for know this is my number one choise)
3. Fostex FE208+ tweeter

I must say that I am really intersted in Open Baffles...in fact the last option I am thinking (if i'll get more money) would be a supravox 215signature+ tweeter in OB...but for now I don't think it's possible.

Even if I am intersted in B200, I am afraid about the poore Xmax...don't know if it will cope with the music... The Fostex should be more detailed, and even if they have a small Xmax, I think beeing in BLH helps them a lot with bass. I know the best solution would be to use woofers from 150Hz down... but i'd like to try true fullrange for now.