CSS FR125S Cabinet - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd March 2006, 05:59 PM   #1
inrank is offline inrank  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Css FR125S Cabinet

hi, i am new to speaker building, i have previously built a pair for an A-Level project but they were rubbish.

i would love to make another pair but somthing that has the voice and imaging of my current Tannoy DC1000's.

so i have started looking at Full Range Drivers and the CSS FR125S in particular.

i would like to design an enclosure that is between 7 and 15 litres and is as efficient a possible and prefably rear ported. i am not too bothered about bass as i have a Tannoy TS8 sub.

my source is a NAD L53 amp/dvd/reciever and i maily listen to classic rock, easy listening, folk, blues.

can anyone help?
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:12 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I would do a sealed enclosure if you have a sub. 9 Litre sealed will be close to the optimal.
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:43 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

just found the RAW 1F at http://quicksitebuilder.cnet.com/wrnch2/rawseries.html
thats the sort of thing im looking for or even a bit bigger.
Click the image to open in full size.
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:43 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

is there any reason to go for a sealed?

found these aswell-

http://homepage.mac.com/tlinespeaker...vented-box.gif

http://www.creativesound.ca/pdf/KIT41CAB.pdf
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:45 PM   #5
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

inrank, there are many threads here concerning that driver. When you search you'll see what I mean.
Old 22nd March 2006, 06:54 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

hi thanks, what is a "aperiodic" or "BR" cabinet?

my speakers will be either side of my tv and around 1ft from a rear wall.
Old 22nd March 2006, 08:29 PM   #7
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by inrank