Advice wanted for newbie with fe206e - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th March 2006, 07:08 PM   #1
wixy is offline wixy  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Advice wanted for newbie with fe206e

Hello,

I have 2 fostex fe206e drivers on the way. Im a complete speaker building newbie but am attracted by the simplicity of a single driver speaker.

Could anyone advise of recommended easy to construct enclosures for the fe206e and where I can obtain plans? What type of enclosure produces what type of sound? I like a nice open and wide sound with tighter bass. Would the fostex recommended back loaded enclosure give this?

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 15th March 2006, 08:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I reckon that the guy who made the whiskey knew how much water to put in it...

How about...

http://www.fostexinternational.com/d...ec_enc_1.shtml
Old 15th March 2006, 09:09 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

The fostex enclosure appeals to me based on its apparent easiness to construct, however I know nothing of its sound and I am worried the driver sits too low below the hearing position.

The Dallas II I am more interested in, but I am wondering how easy is it to construct for a beginner?
Old 15th March 2006, 10:13 PM   #4
Dumbass is offline Dumbass  British Antarctic Territory
diyAudio Member

Martin King's Project 05 would be a great place to start:
http://www.quarter-wave.com/Project05/Project05.html

The compensation circuit, or at the very least 3 ohms series resistance, is necessary for this enclosure.

I'm not quite certain the Fostex design would be easier to build than Ron's design; getting all those boards laminated with each other can be a pain if you don't have lots of clamps.
Old 16th March 2006, 01:30 AM   #5
diyAudio Member