Tapered TL satellite prototype questions for MJK spreadsheets

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there. I have some newbie questions about a prototype I just built for a satellite speaker using the Tang Band 1364S bamboo 3" driver.

First, I am completely new at speaker design so please bear with me if (or I should say when) I am doing things wrong. Before posting, I have designed and built a prototype for the speaker design, and now have some questions about the observed results.

The design goal for this speaker is a relatively compact full-range satellite (front/center/surround) speaker for use in a 5:1 system with an HT receiver having a crossover at 90Hz. The Tang Band 1364S available at PE seems to have many desirable characteristics for this design objective, especially given that high SPLs are not required. Using Martin J. King's wonderful (and infinitely amusing) spreadsheets, I chose a conventional single-folded tapered TL (taper approx 5:1) to fit into a conventional rectangular cabinet design. My target TL length was 26.5", which should yield a cutoff well below 90Hz given the 1364S manufacturer specs. Due to the obvious newbie error when translating the TL length to the exterior dimensions, the prototype's realized length based on design assumptions is really around 24.25".

Even at this length, and allowing for an actual Fs of 115Hz instead of the manufacturer's stated 105Hz (I have no way to measure Fs), modeled response should be flat close to 90Hz, whereas the eardrum-observed (I have no SPL meter either) in-room frequency response using warble tones at 90Hz, 95Hz, 100Hz is something like -5db (noticeably down), flat, flat. Using the spreadsheet, I have to shorten the model's TL length to 22.0" to get this frequency response. So, I some questions about how to reconcile a short single-fold TL model with the observed response.