Mosaic a speaker box? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th January 2006, 05:21 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Mosaic a speaker box?

I have a pair of full-range drivers that are getting ready to enjoy a new home in what will probably be some BIB boxes or back-loaded horns. This will be quite a project for me since I am fairly new to all this, but I have patience and a small budget set aside.

My newb question: what would mosaic-ing the entire outside of a speaker box, except for the rear and bottom baffles, do to the sound? I love the look of natural wood, but my girlfriend loves to mosaic. We want some color in the living room, and I wouldn't mind having some different looking speakers.

We use certain types of wood, like thick birch ply or MDF, to make speakers that don't resonate, and it seems like gluing down glass/tile and grouting it all would also cut down on resonance, but would it be in a bad way? Obviously things would get a lot heavier, but I'm comfortable with that.

I assume also that it would probably have a different effect on a horn than a BIB than a sealed enclosure, etc, but maybe not. I wouldn't put any mosaic on the inside, even the visible insides, of a horn since that would change the volume and shape.

Sooo, any thoughts?
Old 31st January 2006, 05:10 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

You would be making the panels heavier and also having 3 or 4 dissimilar matirials in layers (glue, grout, tiles and the original wood) as far as i know this is a good thing.

it should cut down on resonance quite nicely. I would leave the front baffle near the speakers themselves smooth though.

lets see pictures when its done!
Old 31st January 2006, 01:47 PM   #3
VadimB is offline VadimB  United States
diyAudio Member