FE208EZ enclosure? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th January 2006, 02:05 AM   #1
fan is offline fan  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default FE208EZ enclosure?

im thinking about putting together a pair of speakers using fostex FE208EZ sigma.
but i keep reading here they only work in backloaded horn configurations?
actually i prefer a "compact" version in my small room. are these drivers useless in a box bassreflex design?
also i have no experience building cases. so id like to keep it four-by-four.

i see "omage speakers" sell a standmount bassreflex with the 206 driver. is it completely different with 208?

thanks!
Old 17th January 2006, 04:20 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

i cant tell you which characteristics of these drivers determine their enclosure suitability (might be qts but im not sure), but Im fairly certain you dont want to use a fostex driver that is designed for horns in a bass reflex. The fe206 and the fe207 both have bass reflex designs. If you haven't seen it yet, Madisound has a list of enclosure designs published by Fostex. Look at the bottom of the info page for fostex in the cataloq. I think the fe206 is considered to be the better of the two and I believe its more efficient.

If you want a smaller cabinet you might want to look at the fe103. It has a small bass reflex design and theres something quite appealing to the sound. Lots of designs on the web too. There are some really neat folded quarter wave pipes somewhere out there. There floor standers but very narrow and shallow. If you want the design ask and Ill try and find it again.

Yes the 206 and the 208 are different drivers.
Old 17th January 2006, 04:32 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

here's the page with all the cabinet recommendations

link
Old 17th January 2006, 02:51 PM   #4
diyAudio Member