Terry Cain's BIB -why does it work and does anyone have those Fostex Craft Handbooks?

Assuming you'll occasionally want to 'crank' it up and/or play some relatively dynamic recordings, then without a high pass, the odds are that the drivers will sooner than later be damaged and/or let their smoke out when they're called upon to reproduce any signal below ~0.8x Fs, which considering this driver's high Fs it would be while playing music from most any source recorded after stereo LPs came along in the late '50s.

Note that I've no personal experience with this driver and being designed for prosound apps I may be being overcautious, but better safe than sorry IMO.

Then there's amplitude modulation distortion [AMD] to consider that occurs when drivers used in a wide BW app are driven much beyond a few mm. Some folks can listen to, even enjoy, mass quantities of it, but in making recommendations I feel I should assume a worst case scenario, which is they are like me and find it intolerable for critical listening.

GM

Note that I've no personal experience with this driver and being designed for prosound apps I may be being overcautious, but better safe than sorry IMO.
GM

GM,
It is obvious you are knowledable in this area so I appreciate your opinions regardless of your experience with this particular driver. And yes, this being for my son means that it will get "cranked up" on a regular basis, so thanks for the warning.

It is becoming apparrent to me that I will likely need to go to a large and simple BR for this driver. That will allow me to build the box in ratios that can live in the space and still allow for some bass reproduction. I am considering a 5 cuft ported enclosure. What is the best freeware cabinet program available for me to calculate the port with, WinISD?

Thanks again for your thoughful responses.

Best,
Ed