Make the room part of the horn - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th October 2005, 08:12 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Make the room part of the horn

The drawing shows just the basic idea, do not criticize proportions, etc. It is a slim and very tall enclosure with a folded horn and the opening at the top. When mounted in the corner of the room, the ceiling and the two adjacent walls would form the last section of the horn. I think the radiation from the top corner of the room would have an adequate pattern.
The cross section of the enclosure might be square or maybe right triangular, though this one would be harder to build.
I am a novice, but am really excited about it and intend to try and experiment with it in the next couple of months, unless you tell me it sure won't fly.
Thanks,
Michael
Attached Images
File Type: jpg big horn.jpg (19.1 KB, 1224 views)
Old 17th October 2005, 11:37 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi,

I don't know whether you've seen this site, but your idea looks very similar to this.

http://melhuish.org/audio/DIYTQ8.html

Lots of good ideas and helpful mathematical programs to help you design a good horn.

Hope this is of some use to you.

Good luck with the project.
Old 17th October 2005, 02:25 PM   #3
Onur is offline Onur  Belgium
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Onur Send a message via MSN to Onur
Default why think in 2D

I have this design of mine which is using the floor and the side walls as the part of the horn, just like Motorola horn tweeters.

Since you can not shape the walls by means of a mathematical function, you give the enclosure a shape that it will work as a horn when it is placed at the corner.

But the question is, is it easy to find two perfect corners in every house?

(A picture will follow)

Onur