FE103E Bipole project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th September 2005, 06:28 AM   #1
RtV is offline RtV  United States
diyAudio Member

Default FE103E Bipole project

I'm a newbie to speaker making, so I can use guidance, if there's some to be offered.

I'd like to build a bipole FE103 ML TL for use with a Sonic Impact Class T amp. Bipole, because I'd like to minimize circuitry (for baffle step correction) and enhance sensitivity and bass for the 6 watt amp. FE103 because it seems to be universally liked (except by basshounds). I'm willing to accept whatever bass extension I can coax through good cabinet design, while optimizing other parameters.

Scanning the archives I've found several conflicting measurements for the optimum cabinet size and port hole (as an ML TL). So I'd like to get that straightened out. Also, I'd like to know if anyone has tried placing the drivers off-center, and if so, how that might change the cabinet design.
Old 28th September 2005, 09:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Horizontally off centre -no difference at all to what happens inside the cabinet. It might improve imaging if these were monopolar, but they're not, they're bipolar, and therefore have many of the properties of a dipole design. So probably not worth the effort.

As for modelling the thing: use Martin's MathCad worksheets if you aren't already, with these changes:
http://www.quarter-wave.com/General/Two_Drivers.pdf

problem solved. Oh, by the way, I'd suggest the FE107E rather than the FE103E in a TL.

Best
Scott
Old 28th September 2005, 01:44 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: FE103E Bipole project

Quote:
Originally posted by RtV
I'm a newbie to speaker making, so I can use guidance, if there's some to be offered.