new to this need major help building simple speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys im totally new to home audio and i don't know a thing. Anyway i've decided to buy 2 hi-vi B3S from solen because they are the cheap 12 bucks a peice. I wanted to build 2 speakers to watch movies. I have no idea what else I need from solen to build it. My question, what else do I need to purchase from www.solen.ca ? I can only purchase things in solen because im from Canada. Do i need a crossover or anything? My budget is around $60 canadian total.

You can operate them fullrange, without any crossover. I have similar drivers (TangBand W3-871S) and I put no crossover on them. Going this way, you preserve all the qualities of your driver, and you won't have to worry about expensive Xo components. You will though need to check the maximal power your drivers can handle not to destroy them. (bring your apmlifier louder and louder with heavy music material, and watch the cone excursion : it mustn't reach higher than the Xmax given by the constructor)

I don't think you will need anything else.

- The best speaker cable you can build for cheap is phone cable : use 1 shielded 2-pairs phone cable per pole, and you'll get an excellent cable

- The binding posts can be built using a brass threaded rod (or a brass bolt) firmly locked into the wood with 2 brass nuts. Then, you bind the cables using another nut and discs. You have a very good binding post, able to handle hundreds watts for cheap. Brass ensures an excelllent conductivity and is easily available.

All you need is to create your own design for them, or simpler, to search for other people's design.

If you want small and simple boxes, go for a sealed enclosure. If you want bass, go for a vented design, such as a Cyburgs-needle TQWT. Search the forum for similar designs, there are a lot !

Greets !