Help from the speaker experts. FE167E

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ladies and Gentleman, I'm looking for help...

I've bought some Fostex FE167E drivers and im now trying to design a cabinet to put them in. Let me add that im a beginner!:xeye:

I was originaly intending to use the fostex recomended enclosure but ive been told that it maybe too small. Plus ive noticed bob brines uses a larger enclosure (his smallest is 24L i think) and ive been told from anouther site of someone using a 21L enclosure with success.

So ive decided to use a 21 L enclosure, make it tall and thin (for aesthetics).

I entend to use baffle step correction compensation too.

Ive attached a pic of my plans so far and im looking for criticism, help, ideas, etc....

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Wella

Attachments

• weltonfe167e11.gif
    weltonfe167e11.gif
    8.4 KB · Views: 681
Hi,
the tuning and all looks alright.
I think you got messed up with internal/external measures of the speaker? 560*170*220 should be internal right?

Have a look here for some inspiration. (should be ~20l+ as well)

I built the 15l-recommended and well the tuning is alright but yes for most recordings a bit on the thin side when it comes to bass.

I´ll be either complementing with stereo subs or building a ML-TL ala Bob Brines FT1600. Building a stand for a bookshelf or building a bigger speaker in the first place is no big difference is it?:D

greets&happy listening

GM

Joined 2003
Greets!

Hmm, tall and thin, eh? Since even most old vinyl has strong content to 40 Hz, this seems the 'no-brainer' Fb choice to me, so using your 374 cm^2 (~57.97"^2) CSA (cross sectional area):

L = 50.375"
zdriver = 17.375"
zport = bottom exit
rp = 1.5"
Lp = 2"