CSS Driver Idea

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am new to the world of DIY audio speakers, although I did construct a pair of Jordan fullrangers.

The new CSS 4.5'' driver intriques me, and I am curious as to why - if the driver is as good as some people here are saying it is - the driver is not being used by practically everybody. I heard one guy say it was better than the Jordan JX92S, which is considerably more expensive. If it is truly better than the Jordan, I will love this driver. People are saying that it has better bass response than any other driver about it's size, although the Jordan (which is about the same size) goes down to 40Hz whereas the CSS goes down to 60Hz. Is the bass response truly better?

The most frustrating thing about building the Jordan speakers was working with the cabinet. For this reason, I have an interesting design idea. Why not just load the CSS driver into an inverted horn lense (ala nOrh, but have it be a true horn lense)?

I was thinking something like this: http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?DID=7&PartNumber=264-315

You would mount the driver on the mouth...would it work? Does the plastic rim surroundng the driver extend the diameter to about 6 inches for the CSS driver (I have had trouble finding dimensions)?

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Originally posted by Czilla9000
The new CSS 4.5'' driver intriques me, and I am curious as to why - if the driver is as good as some people here are saying it is - the driver is not being used by practically everybody.

It has been on the market for less than a year. People have been talking about and playing with ht Jx92 for nigh on 5 years now & it is just getting a big head of steam (not to mention that as a driver it goes back some 30 years -- i was playing with the 4" Jordan-Watts in 1975!!)