Speakers for Decware Zen (n00b questions warning)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all...

I recently bought a Decware Zen SE84CS Select and modified Bottlehead Foreplay for a small mini-system that will end up in my office or bedroom. I've read some articles online about full range and folded horn/TL designs and think I might go this way. I'm a college student on a pretty extreme budget, so I figure using just two drivers can save me some cash :smash:

OK - n00b questions ahead, so you've been warned!

I listen to mostly classic rock and jazz. I'm going to be using a powered subwoofer with this setup, so the bottom octave doesn't have to be really powerful, although I'd like some bottom-end authority; don't want the sub to do all the work. The Decware Zen does most of its power at low impedances (2 to 4 ohms)...so that's a consideration for the driver. It won't work well with a single Fostex that's 8 ohms. I'm a college student on an extreme budget...like $50 or $60 per driver. Maybe less.

So, what drivers to get? What type of enclosure? I hope somebody can help me...thanks in advance.

The standard recommendations at that price will be the various Fostexs. However I went (for my son whose a student) for the cheaper option of Tangbands. The W4-1052SA is half the price of the fostexs and when simply modified as shown on this link, McKenzie driver mods , is a stellar performer. The other nice thing is that a simple reflex box yields great performance as this driver has reasonable Xmax.

So what does one give up compared to the Fostex? Well, the tone isn't quite a good as a well run in Fostex and it isn't quite as detailed but it has better bass weight which helps with rock. Also the 4ohm impedance will suit the Decware amps.