pioneer b20fu20-51fw

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to speaker building. I was thinking that this summer I would start out with a cheap project using the Pioneer B20FU20-51FW, mostly because it's so cheap and it can play fairly low for the price.

I used a program called WinISD to design a very simple bass reflex enclosure of about 106 liters. (12"x15"x36" inside) My question is this: is there a better design out there that would be more suitable for this driver?

I should qualify my question by saying that I am not a very good carpenter, so a complicated folding rear horn is probably beyond my ability.

GM

Joined 2003
Greets!

While an OB is about as simple as it gets, this driver is like most FR drivers in that it needs all the acoustic help down low it can get, so I prefer straight pipe loading as a nice trade-off between simplicity and performance. Taking the T/S max flat specs and converting it to a pipe (all dims are inside (i.d.)):

L = 50.75"
w = 14.375"
d = 8.875"
driver down 19.25"
vent = 4" dia x 2" long positioned 1" from the bottom

Lining the top, one side, and back with fiberglass insulation or a loose fill of polyfil from the top down to just below the driver is usually sufficient.

Since this driver is somewhat lacking in HF BW, a super tweeter is required for best performance. Since piezos like used in the referenced sealed design are no longer made, this inexpensive Vifa should work well: http://www.pispeakers.com/Components/Vifa_DX25TG05-04.pdf

I recommend packing the area between the whizzer and diaphragm with polyfil (AKA $0.98 tweak) before dialing in the super tweeter XO values since it smooths some of its rather ragged/peaky HF response. There's a number of other tweaks that improve this driver, but most folks prefer to just upgrade to a more expensive one that has them already built in.

GM