Which fostex for a bookshelf?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I want to built my first diy loudspeakers and I need something with these features:

1) sensitivity... I want to use good low power amp(5/15W).
I think a good impedance curve can helps too

2) dimension...I have to lay the loudspeaker on a desk 76cm high. Not a good solution indeed, but this is my condition in this moment. Max dimension: 50*30*30cm

3) low cost... 200€ max

I've no long experience in loudspekers diy, so I'm here to ask your opinion. I'm thinking if a fostex fe167 or a fe207 in a reflex box can satisfy my requests.

Mark

I've used the FE127E in a couple of different configurations. It's a wonderful little speaker for low power applications. The double-bass reflex design from Fostex is very nice but it looks to be too tall for you. The FE127E in a standard BR will only give you FR to ~70Hz. Perhaps the FE207E bass reflex cab will work.
http://www.fostexinternational.com/docs/speaker_comp/pdf/recom_enclose/207e_enclrev.pdf
If you're going to be using the speaker next to a CRT monitor of any type you will need to go with the FE-AV series for the shielded magnet.

jlsem I've seen the fostex enclosures. DO you suggest me to don't use FE speakers?

I would recommend for your first project the FF125K speaker and Fostex enclosure. The dimensions are exactly what you want, it is the simplest to build (no tube, just a hole in the baffle for the port), plenty of efficiency for your available power, and well within your specified budget.

John