fostex FE127e, newbie - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th May 2004, 12:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default fostex FE127e, newbie

I'm a newbie here also in building speaker. So if any one had build already a full range speaker using Fostex Fe127e, can you share your experience with this speaker, in terms of music and movie sound. In music i most listen to jazz, classic, rock ballads. A concern friend recommend this Fostex, for easy building and no crossover needed, so I'm tempted to build this one and use for front(stereo) and center channel use. If ever, i'm going to build fostex recommended enclosure " double bass reflex enclosure". Need your comment and input with regard to this pls.
Old 29th May 2004, 02:34 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

I considered doing exactly that, and still may at some point in the future. You will get the best (quantity) bass that way. But the double bass reflex will give you a bit of a "two-note" bass with peaks at (if I remember) about 120hz and 50hz.

The effect will be that of comparatively full, rich bass, but it will not be a flat, rolled off response. If you went another box style, the reponse would be smoother, but the bass would roll off at a higher frequency.

I think the double bass reflex likely represents a good overall compromise for the FE127E.
Old 29th May 2004, 04:02 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

How about a ML-TQWT?

(sorry, couldn't resist)
Old 29th May 2004, 04:10 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

I'm not familiar with ML TQWT, is this a type of enclosure?
Old 29th May 2004, 06:01 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

sorry for my ignorance, but I search the web.
Is this the ML-QWT enclosure.
http://www.quarter-wave.com/Project02/Project02.html