Audible vibration cause by driver fitting/brace. Any help appreciated

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have an audible vibration in my Pensils/A7.3. I have been loving these units for several months, but now a vibration has started on one cabinet. I have isolated the problem to the driver fitting/brace, and would appreciate advice to enable a permanent fix and to impove my speaker building technique.

After removing the back I determined that the sound of the vibration changed if I moved the driver brace slightly. Loose driver I thought, but tightening the driver mounts made the problem worse, loosening one of the driver mounting screws has stopped the problem. So, this is where i would like some help.

Is this problem caused by the driver brace being too tight on the driver motor, should the brace be there to only take some of the weight of the driver and should there be a gap between the rear of the motor and the brace, or is the problem because I have a "wonky" brace or driver rebate and I should reshape or pack it to give an even pressure on the rear of the driver.

Thanks for any help you can offer

I'd take a sharp knife and take off a bit of the brace material so that it's clear of the driver's magnet, and then use some self-adhesive neoprene foam (draught excluder) to go between the magnet and brace.

That'll give you something that can compress when you screw the driver in, but should cut out rattles.

Chris