Foam Core and 3FE25... Maybe BLH?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,
I have a pair of Faital 3fe25s laying around, as seen here:
FaitalPRO 3FE25 3" Professional Full-Range Woofer 8 Ohm
(they're actually the ones in the customer photos section lol) and I'm not really happy with the enclosure I've got them in now. I've been massively inspired by all the foam core work XRK has been doing, and there's a dollar tree right next to the gym I'm going to in four hours... I think you can see where I'm going here. Now, I'd like to build a BLH or maybe a BVR for these, but I'm far from an expert on anything at all, much less quarter-wave physics, so I'd like some guidance on how to get there. I've read most of the MJK papers on the subject, but parsing out the sections specific to back-loaded horns without having any kind of background knowledge is a little bit daunting.

Thanks guys!

I'll put it a plug for the Mini Karlsonators. If you haven't already, check out the thread link below. There are pre-drawn foam core designs already done. They are some satisfying and relatively quick builds. I built a pair of the 0.40x with some Dayton PS95-8 drivers and I'm about to start the 0.53x dual 3FE25-16 build very soon as well. The 0.40x scale mini-k's are also a good fit for your single 3FE25 drivers.

Mini Karlsonator (0.53X) with Dual TC9FD's

Last edited:
Seems like someone did some Karlsonators with the 4fe35 if memory serves me right... I've been thinking about those, too. Of course, the thing about foam core is that you can build so many enclosures, since the materials are next to free and it only costs time

Last edited:
Since you have so much foam board and would like to build BLHs as well - a good one to try would be the Frugel-Horn Lite:
Frugel-Horn Lite for 3" drivers
But, you would probably have to double up the foam for the larger sections like the side walls and baffle.