Noobie Build Bluetooth Speaker. - Visaton Waterproof Driver

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all, im a noob building a simple portable Bluetooth speaker with full range driver: I have posted the Datasheet and TS parameters from (Visaton)

I was having trouble Finding the right Enclosure using online calculators (mixed results??) So I was hoping you could give me some help with selecting the right enclosure for this driver. There seems to be an art around matching the driver to the enclosure?? Im wanting to have a portable speaker I can take outside and brave the elements so thats why I chose waterproof speaker w/grille ect.. This is probably contradictory to everything but can the volume of the enclosure be kept minimal?

The second question is would the enclosure be different for using these drivers and a (single or pair) of passive radiators; im assuming this would help a bit with extra bass

TS - Parameters and link to driver - There is PDF with specs also

SL 87 ND - 8 Ohm | Visaton

RDC: 7.5 Ohm
Qm: 2.38
Qe: 0.91
Qt: 0.66
fs: 138 Hz
VAS: 1.24 l
mms: 2.1 g
cms: 0.63
rms: 0.77 kg/s

The Class-D amplifier Specs (2 x 8 watt) 12V dc Source - TSA3110B(Apt-X)

2 x 8 Watt Class D Bluetooth Audio Amplifier Board - TSA3110B(Apt-X)

Attachments

• 0900766b810a72dc.pdf
    459.9 KB · Views: 32
Last edited:
I calculated with WinISD and looks to me that a bass reflex is the way to go (or passive radiator). For each driver you would need a box of 5 liters tuned to around 85hz. That can be done with a 5cm diameter tube which is 10cm long.

Hey Nenola thanks, I was hoping to get a volume that enables it to be portable; im probably creating more problems in asking for this??? I was thinking 3-4 litres for both drivers in a shared enclosure maximum???