Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Choosing driver's
Choosing driver's
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd January 2018, 04:45 PM   #1
Chrispy61 is offline Chrispy61  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Choosing driver's

Hello everyone, this is my first post so go easy.

I've been looking into building speakers for a while as a hobby and this year I have the space to start.

My question is when looking at driver's (in this case full range) what specific information would tell you a good driver from a bad one?

For example, 2 different 4" driver's, one costing £15 and one costing £40. How could you tell them apart in terms of quality apart from the the obvious cost difference.

Like I say I'm new to this so go easy, I'm here to learn

Many thanks
Old 2nd January 2018, 06:20 PM   #2
DamaDama is offline DamaDama  Poland
diyAudio Member

Choosing drivers is in many cases a bit risky. Sometimes measurements are looking fine for both speakers and one can sound not so impressive like the other one with similar specs.

Also there is a need to have answers for some questions, like how will you power the speakers or how much space do you have for listening and how does it look like? Also what kind of music you will be listening to on those speakers?

Cheers
Old 2nd January 2018, 06:47 PM   #3
Chrispy61 is offline Chrispy61  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

At the moment this isn't for anything specific but more of a general guide to choosing driver's. I've been looking at the Monacor brand which I can buy at a decent price but I was hoping for something that could apply to any speaker with a spec sheet
Old 2nd January 2018, 09:07 PM   #4
planet10 is offline planet10  Canada
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator