Audio Nirvana Classic 8 Ferrite vs. Mark Audio Alpair 12P

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Probably both have strengths and weaknesses. I have some experience with Mark Audio Alpair 7.3, 10.2 and 10.3. Not favorable with the metal cone A10s.

My use would be as a driver for a FAST system. My preferences are for a precise image, large soundstage, sharp dynamics and smooth response. 95% classical music with a little classic rock and jazz. Nothing loud, but I want the dynamic range available to do so.

I can't speak re the Audio Nirvana, but as to the Alpair12 -if not the PW (woofer) version, in a manageably small box they won't deliver much bottom end, but with help below, say 200-300?, I think you'd be fine. What bass drivers would you be thinking of using?

And I think scottj would chastise me for not reminding you to abandon the FAST acronym and get with the times, mate - WAW is what it is - until it's something else. ;)

I have the AN15" and it's superb. But looking at the AN8" ferrite - I don't like the ragged treble response in the FR plot. I believe that at the 8" size you'd have to spend big $$ for the Alnico classic 8+ to get really good results. But if you can justify a larger driver then I'd suggest considering their 12" super ferrite - still not smooth FR plot but closer to what I have with the AN15"super ferrite (no longer available). At that point, you may not need a supporting woofer.

I've heard the AN Classic 8" Ferrite just sitting out unenclosed with 20uf in series. Fairly impressive. But I've been considering an Alpair 10P of Alpair 12P for some time. Was curious how the drivers compared to each other. Whatever I choose would end up replacing a combination of a Satori 6 1/2" woofer with a Seas H1189 tweeter currently being used for reproduction above ~600Hz or so (1st order crosovers). Big woofer system below.