Trapezoid mini Onken&Slim GR dMar-Ken builds

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

So the build begins! Well in my head, first things first, i'll break each part down. Put it in 3D, that way in my head i know how it all goes together, the sizes and generally get myself ready to make these babies.

I'm building these two enclosures so i can test, compare and give measurable results on how they sound, it's also just to spark a lost passion and joy for diy speaker building.

I thought i would start this thread to ask questions, show you my build process and perhaps inspire others.

I decided to get help from a good friend who is, by profession, a carpenter who will teach and guide me in building these enclosures, plus he has the facilities and tools, where as i would be working in my cellar driving the wife mad. This also means it wont take me months to finish it :D.

My only thoughts are on finishes, i would like a modern finish i.e a good spray job in like piano black or white. But i'm not sure if it will last over the years, would it crack over time because the wood naturally expands?

Where and how would one place the speaker wire? And would i just use normal spray adhesive to glue the wadding?

Also techniques on cutting the chamfer, mentally i want to be prepared, that way when i communicate with my friend we are on the same page.

Don't worry chrisb it is not going to be made of MDF ;) baltic birch all the way, i will do you proud mate!

Last edited:
Having built some of both styles, I'd make a few observations / suggestions , which you can discuss with your carpenter friend while reviewing the official plans.