Portable battery powered full range speaker build.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I'm new to this forum. I am currently studying an engineering extended diploma in the UK. Part of my course requires me to design and build a project.

I have been wanting to build my own speaker for a while and thought this was the perfect opportunity. My initial plan was a 3 way system but I am now leaning towards a single full range driver. This driver from Tangband is one of the drivers that have caught my eye. Tang Band W5-1611SAF 5" Full Range Speaker. I plan to power my system from a removable 12v lipo and also have it so that it can be powered from an external battery such as a car battery. It will also be able to be powered from the mains.

I would be very interested in hearing advice from those more experienced than myself. In particular I am struggling to find a good quality small amplifier or amplifier board that is capable of outputting enough power, at a suitable quality, for the relatively high quality driver.

I would also be very keen to hear from any of you who think they may be able to offer advice about any part of this project.

Sorry for the long (and formal) post but I didn't want to miss anything and this post may be useful to include as evidence for my final project portfolio.

Thanks in advance!!

Since you'll be looking to have the option of sunning it off a car battery, a Lepai amp might work well. Many run off 12 VDC.

Lepai In Stock At Parts Express With Free Shipping

The same can be said form Topping amps

Topping In Stock At Parts Express With Free Shipping

And then Dayton Audio has some nice offerings.

Dayton Audio DTA-2 Class T Digital Audio Amplifier Module