DIY fullrange driver? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th February 2004, 07:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Nappylady Send a message via AIM to Nappylady Send a message via MSN to Nappylady Send a message via Yahoo to Nappylady
Default DIY fullrange driver?

Has anyone ever attempted this? I'm not an engineer, but it seems to me that not everything has been done in terms of making a truly full-range driver capable of large SPL figures without a subwoofer.

Here's my thinking: a 12" cone with a XBL2 motor (the one with two back-to-back voice coils to reduce inductance) (2" voice coil?) could provide high excursion and low inductance, so adding a whizzer cone would extend the usable frequency range up to maybe 12khz. At the same time, in a ported alignment, this driver could give output to probably 40hz or maybe even below. While this isn't quite reference range, it's enough for PA applications--no coincidence, this is my goal. To cover the frequencies above 12khz, a peizo horn could be attached to the back of the driver and horn-loaded through the pole piece and whizzer cone. I suspect this would be enough to reach all the way up to 20khz.

Since the woofer part would be an inductive load, and the peizo part capacitative, it's possible, I think, to design the thing so it wouldn't require a crossover; just hook both elements up to an amplifier. I like this idea a lot.

If it turns out that the bass isn't enough, we'll add a DIY parthenon to get enough extra thump.

What do the engineers in the room think?
Old 24th February 2004, 07:37 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

For a fullrange driver the moving mass of the voice coil and
its former must be kept to a minimum for treble response.