4 inch enclosure recomendation - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2016, 02:34 PM   #1
terrago is offline terrago  Bulgaria
diyAudio Member

Default 4 inch enclosure recomendation

Hello! I have these speakers:
2pcs HiEnd 4inch Full Range Speaker Defy Lowther Fostex New SE Edition | eBay

I want to build desk speakers. Can you recommend enclosure for these speakers? I'm new to this, so please, excuse my ignorance!
Thanks in advance!
Old 6th January 2016, 03:03 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I have a few reservations over the marketing claims but leaving that aside, they should go in FH3 for example, and no doubt X could come up with a Karlsonator variation if you fancied something on those lines. Otherwise, a straightforward BR or compact TL variation would be possible; based on the stated spec. they should be relatively flexible in that sense.
Old 6th January 2016, 03:07 PM   #3
xrk971 is offline xrk971  United States
diyAudio Member

Ahh the whizzer coned AIR/Airborne/AirXXX never seem to go away...

Click the image to open in full size.

They look really cool, and I would love to get one to play with if they were super cheap - but they aren't quite cheap. The specs are not impressive and really, I wouldn't do anymore than put them in an OB or a sealed box with a FAST woofer support. A Qts of 0.68 and sensitivity of 86dB is nothing special. A Tang Band bamboo cone with no whizzer and Nd motor will sound better.

The response has a +12dB step at 7kHz which will make for some nice ringing and sibillant voice.
Click the image to open in full size.