Books for Students - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Old 31st July 2015, 10:28 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
Default Books for Students

I'm a longtime audio gear-head, but I am also a librarian at a design school, and for the first time, have a work related question.

There has been a speaker design project at the school for the last couple of years and I would like to buy some books for the students on how to design them. They design the speakers currently for looks of a desktop system and I am not sure if they even sound good, but I would like them to design it so it will.

Also, I would like to find some good books on simple diy audio project related to amps and preamps as well. Does anyone have any suggestions?
These students don't have time to dive into electrical engineering so it would have to explained in a simple way.

Old 31st July 2015, 11:01 PM   #2
Greg B is online now Greg B  United States
diyAudio Member
The various David Weems books are IMHO the best written basic texts. Dickason assumes prior knowledge, and Alden is not as well written. It could be argued that all these books are obsolescent.
Old 31st July 2015, 11:36 PM   #3
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Yeah, unfortunately, the internet has writ 'books for dummies' and 'up to the minute' broad spectrum textbooks obsolete, so for beginners, Weems is pretty much it.

Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.
Old 1st August 2015, 02:55 AM   #4
Ron E is offline Ron E  United States
diyAudio Member