Frugel-Horn MK3: help my build in Northern Sweden - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th June 2015, 05:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Frugel-Horn MK3: help my build in Northern Sweden

Hi,
I am new in Europe, and this will be my first real built here. I don't know the stores here, and what are the local tricks.

I am now planning to built a pair of frugal horn mk3 on 18mm plywood with Alpair 7 3rd generation.

1st question: Where is a reasonable place to buy the Alpair (given shipping cost and duty if applicable)? I looked at the Mark Audio distributor from their web site, but I would like to know if there is a little hidden gem where I could snap a deal?

2nd question: Stuffing. What do you recommend? For that stuff, shipping cost is on the same scale as the product given the volume (I may be wrong). What would you recommend in term of stuffing material and the amount so that I have just too much, so I don't need another delivery?

3rd Question: Is there "home made" alternative for the stuffing material, that would perform on par with stuffing labelled "for audio"?

4rd Question: What would you recommend for protection of the drivers in a hostile environment (young kids who want to touch the drivers). One option is speaker grill, but I am sure creative people in the forum have experience more aesthetic options.

I am looking forward to ear your opinion, and I will post pictures of the progression. My time frame for the completion of this is about 6 months, so don't hold your breath for the pictures.

Best regards,
Old 10th June 2015, 07:07 PM   #2
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacemen12 View Post
1st question: Where is a reasonable place to buy the Alpair (given shipping cost and duty if applicable)?