Center and rear speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone - newbie here. Actually, I have built a few pairs of speakers before over the past couple of decades, so I'm not totally green. Anyway, I'm looking for advice for building a center channel and rears for a 5.1 system. My mains are Seas Prestige CA18RNX with Seas H1189-06 tweeters. 12" ported subwoofer. I want to build a center and rears, but cost is really a factor, as I have already spent more than my wife would like me to on the mains and sub. Anyway, I'm looking for recommendations for drivers to keep the cost down but still compliment what I've already got. I'm looking at full-range drivers because of their lower cost, but also because it seems like full-range design, materials, and manufacturing have come a long way in recent years.

I would love to simply build 3 little ported boxes, slap a MarkAudio CHP-70 or CHN-70 in each one and call it a day. Yes, I'm oversimplifying for the sake of brevity. ;) But I don't know if these would compliment my Seas mains? Or if 4" drivers in general are too small and would get lost in my 24x24 great room? I'm not an audiophile perfectionist anymore, and I'm on a budget, so I don't need it to sound perfect. I just need it to sound decent. I know my center should probably be the same driver as my mains, but it would be expensive to buy another CA18RNX, especially considering I'd need to buy another tweeter and crossover too.

Anyway, any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

There are many who opine that a dedicated centre is not at all necessary - but after experiment with a few different combinations during the past decade, including abandoning the idea due to the complexity of balancing levels etc back in the dark ages :D, I've come to the opposite conclusion - thanks in no small part to the automated calibration / EQ systems such as Audyssey (and others)