Richard Allan - Crossover Wiring

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Richard Allan 3 way speakers - Crossover Wiring Problem

Hi Guys,

I have a pair of Richard Allan 3 way speakers. There are date stamps from 1969/1970 on the speakers. It's old school, but cool.

Speaker A: sounds fantastic and has all original speakers and what I presume is the original crossover wiring.

Speaker B: sounds really muddy and terrible. On further investigation it sounds like the signal for the lows is being sent through the mid, and that the mid signal is being sent through the woofer. This speaker has had the Mid replaced at some point, and it appears that someone also rewired the crossover.

I think that I need to rewire speaker B, but wanted to get some advice before I do it to make sure I don't break anything. Here are the details:

I'm a complete newbie, but I traced the wiring and drew out my own crude diagram, and even to a novice the basic layout (of speaker A at least) does make sense (see the attached photos).

NOTE: I don't need comments on how the crossover can be improved - only on how to correct speaker B.

A) Based on my very limited knowledge, Speaker A appears to be correctly wired through the inductor for the woofer and via a capacitor for the tweeter. This speaker also sounds great, so I'm using this as my model for a good working setup.

B) Speaker B appears to be wired wrong. Based on (A) as a model, the output from the Inductor is going to the mid (which is the low signals I think) and the woofer is now wired up to get the low signal.

Is there any reason why I can't rewire Speaker B to be exactly the same as Speaker A? I'm going to give it a go, but thought I'd check in case there was a good reason why it has been rewired differently to handle the new Mid speaker??

Attachments

• Speaker A -with-original-speakers-and-wiring.jpg