Backloaded Horn Speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first time at making my own speakers. I brought a table saw and a router. Knowing well this will be a learning experience, as I have never used any power tools, and the end results will not be perfect. I designed the speakers in Photoshop. I'm a photo retoucher and have no clue in using auto cad and other computer programs.

I chose back loaded horn speakers because I'm curious what it will sound like and I wanted a challenge in woodworking and learn different techniques. I brought a set full range speakers off of ebay, wished I have heard of parts express.com then.

I chose pine wood because I like the look of natural wood.

Using a table saw for the first time was intimating. Boy! safety googles are a must.

Practicing with the router and cutting the speaker openings.

After cutting the sides, I wanted to see how they look.

Setting up the interior folds and glueing everything.

The back, I didn't have a big enough router bit for the speaker terminal. Decided to scrap that and have the cables connected to the amplifier. To seal all the inside folds, front and back panel, I used clear corking, the stuff used for window and doors.

In the end, they look alright. I learned a lot and it was a lot of fun. How do the speakers sound? They sound alright, not great. They need to broken in and might sound better. I think they sound a little open then conventional speakers. The bass lack depth, I'm getting some soft foams to stuff the inside. Hopefully this will help.

Are there any fellow diy'ers in the NYC area? I would love to learn about cross overs and stuff.

With this one done, I'm currently working on a t-line full range speaker. I'm using plywood this time. Would love to hear from everyone, thanks for reading.

Best,
G

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member