Powerful Full range speakers inside small enclosure - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th August 2014, 07:49 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Powerful Full range speakers inside small enclosure

Hi
I am planning an enclosure size of 7Wx4Hx2D inch.
I am very new to all this acoustic engg stuff, so dont have much idea on how to compare and select speakers.
The only thing I know is sensitivity and power.
I got two amps, MAX9744, class d 20W and TPA2016, class d 3W.

For TPA2016, i have this speaker selected - Dayton AUdio CE 52P 3 W 4 ohm

For MAX9744, Tectonic 8 ohm 20 W

Now i am bit confused, if those would be right choices(i would never have the luxury of experimenting that much).

Basically the speaker specs I was looking for TPA2016 was
5-7W, 90 to 20K, above 90db, neo mag, paper cone, 4 or 8 ohm.

for MAX9744, 25 to 30W and rest same.

Can you suggest some options but below $20 range?
And how does a selection is made based on such an enclosure size.

---
As a side note, I had this conversation with a guy from woofer.com. He told me that TPA2016 is not a good amp as it has got high THD+N of 10%.
That got me demotivated, as I thought that would be a good amp to begin with as it has also AGC. But i dont know why he said that.

Partly that is the reason I am looking for speakers well above the amps range, coz when i ordered MAX9744 from adafruit, it was exhibiting distortion at high volumes even when the supply voltage was well below the max range of 12v. I gave it 8V with a speaker rated at 25W 4Ohm, still there was distortion.

But i now have that MAX9744 modified to include a back to back diode BAV99 at both the input channels. Have the PCB but have not tested, so am a little skeptical of it if there will be still distortion.