Help Picking a driver - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th February 2014, 06:45 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help Picking a driver

Hi All,

I'm having trouble deciding between Fostex 206en or 166en for a. My current reference is a pair of Altec Lansing 605b I inherited from my grandfather who built them. Upon first hearing those I realized what I had been missing. The mid range! All commercial speakers I've heard seem to have lots of bass and decent treble but no depth in the mid range.

I'm a professional classical musician and as such hear music with a critical ear and as an expression of life. When I put on a recording of a great violinist or violist (i'm a violist btw) I want it to sound like he's in the room. I've experienced that with the Altecs and am looking for something similar at an affordable price ~$100-150/driver.

Ultimately I plan to build 2 pair. 1 for the living room--currently a large open room ~15'x40' with oak floors, and 1 for my private teaching studio--carpeted and size of a large bedroom but an off L shape though this will change w/in 5 years so the studio speakers need to be good no matter what studio sized room they're in.

I haven't decided if I will add a sub or not. I know that it's better to, but am trying to keep cost down. I'm more likely to add a sub at home than the studio since it will get more use.

Aesthetically my favorite design so far is the abby. I'm also toying with the the idea of something from the spawn family. I would prefer to keep the project simple and do not want to design it from scratch nor have to fuss with a bunch of calculations. Am looking to use someone's pre-existing plans.

So, am I headed in the right direction or should I consider something else?

Thanks for the help.
Old 16th February 2014, 07:55 PM   #2