Mc42's (Michel) 10P project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As it sounds that the 10Ps have already been decided upon / procured? I guess all that's left is to decide which enclosure best suits this specific application - did I miss if you've yet discussed any enclosure size constraints?

I have no constraint .... just the best reproduction of sound that I can make .

For me the FHXL is a TQWT( go to slot at down ) + horn . My design before ( the double TQWT ) is a melting pot of TQWT , back horn loaded + OB

I have some experience in back horn loaded with JBL 2220, some time ago , the Qts must to be low ( +/- 0.2 ) for that work very well , the bass is good , deep but not also good articulated that with a OB . The Qts of 10P is a little too high for this model of cabinet .

Attachments

• altec420.jpg
    altec420.jpg
    75.8 KB · Views: 601
  • 420Horn.jpg
    420Horn.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 593
Last edited:
My design .... free ..... see many page before

The 10P is in the middle , at right , same design for Coral 8" and at left my OB

dimension ; 10" x 5" x 60" ..... noting is critical in the dimension

Good bass , sub not necessary for most music ..... rock also if mid level

Attachments

• 2HOB.jpg
    2HOB.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 548
Hi Guys,
Thanks to Michel for posting his project. Its very interesting work. Michel will hopefully post his impressions on the acoustic results for this project.

I'm happy to encourage experimentation but bear in mind that results will likely be mixed if a design/application ignore's some of the driver's design features. I have concerns re Michel's horn design. The horns have steep sides that could/will generate reflections and secondary un-controlled resonances. A "tunnelling" effect will also likely be audible.