Mocking up with cardboard

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Mocking up with cardboard, and other newbie questions

So I'm just starting out in speaker building and I have received a pair of Monacor SPX-30M and mocked up some basic ~3L enclosures from cardboard.

Firstly, is this what everyone did when they first started out?!

Secondly, how will the cardboard actually affect the sound negatively, when compared to the future "proper" wooden efforts? I'm hoping they're going to sound a bit more "weighty" once I build the boxes.

Obviously the Monacors are bass-light but they're also a little bit shouty in the mid range. I don't know if this is a characteristic of the drivers, or that of the thin cardboard enclosures.

Also, when building small full range units like this, is it normal to have a high pass filter at all? I have the speaker size on the AV receiver I'm using to power them set to "small" but I think that crosses over at about 80hz which is a bit low for these little'uns.

Lastly, with the T&S parameters of the driver, how do you go about ascertaining the correct volume of sealed enclosure for single full range drivers like this one? Shove them in WinISD like you would a sub? Does the enclosure size affect anything other than the bass response particularly?

I have some HiVi B3Ns on the way too, which I'm hoping will fit in the same holes and I know work well in 2.5-3L enclosures judging by information available online.

As you can see I'm a big n00b so any answers to my questions and general advice are greatly appreciated.

Last edited: