FAST system design advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I started a project to build my own speakers mid august.
I'm currently in my last year of a Bachelors degree in acoustics and I thought it would be a good way to see the practical side of what I'm doing in the lectures.I also love DIY projects.

I am going for an active design using the TDA 2002 for the amps and I'm thinking maybe a tube preamp section but that will be extra. My current setup: B&W 686, Stormaudio V35, Micromega CD player (was my dads).

Now, I have a problem. I have no idea where to start. I originally started with the active crossovers with a LR4 design. I then realised I really need the speaker caracteristics for the crossover point, but the speaker depends on the design of the encolsure.

After much searching and reading, I'm hesitating between two:
-FAST design. I was thinking of using Fostex FF85WK for the mids/upper but not too sure on what to use for the bass, a Visatron W200 maybe?

-Using a Fostex FF165WK in a TQWT design

These are the artists I listen to most: (Bonobo, Thievery corporation, Amon tobin, Trentemoller, UB40, Angus & Julia Stone, The flashbulb) to name a few.

I live in an apartment so massive spl is not imoportant. Budget, maybe 300-400e max

Can anyone give advice or a pointer in the right direction?
I'm going to continue my research.

Cheers

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
Journeyman,