Full Range Car Audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I want to share my experience using a fullrange driver at my car and have some tips for the passive adjust. I use a 2way+sub (woofer+fullrange) with no electronic adjusts, only direction adjusts, and it gives me a incredible soundstage and focus for a purist system.
I have some experience using fullranges, I've made a FH3 for Mark Audio CHP-70.
Lets go for what really matters.
I've tryed 3 models.
FR88EX (actually at my car), Vifa NE85W (Not in the car) and Fostex FF85WK.
For the Founteks, I've already know about a notch filter (8,2uF//.33mH//4,7ohms) and i had a good response using as open baffle. Last weekend i did a Zobel filter using 2.2uFseries2.5uFseries1uFseries9,6ohms, and it sounds great. The Notch cap is a Mundorf Al/Oil and the zobel caps are Clarity ESA and Solen.
The Fostex, I've tested at home, using a 2L sealed enclosure with no filters and had a great response. But at the car using open baffle that was terrible.
But even with this problem, this driver sound way much betterm with a better top end, and a good sound (better than the Fountek).
I need to use at that configuration, i dont want to build any box. How can you see at the pics, my car pannel is very small, and I don't belive that any box can fit and sound as good as it sound at this "poor" mountage.
The HU is a Denon DCT-100, the amplifier is a Brazilian amp, that sound similar to McIntosh car amps. Today i'm using Chord Cobraplus IC's, a Nakamichi EC302 active crossover (High and Low pass from 0-300Hz @18dB/octave). The cable for the fullrange way is now (for this week at least!) A Nordost Valhalla (it will be probably a Blue Heaven at the final setup) The speaker cable for the fullrange is Chord Odissey. For midbasses (Focal 165VR).I use Canare 4S8 as speaker cable. THe subwoofer is a RE audio SRI 10".