Mini Karlsonator (0.53X) with Dual TC9FDs

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Once I get back to Canada and get my shop in order, I am going to try to investigate this foam vs wood conundrum. The Karlsons were all made of wood or MDF years ago, Planet 10 and others are making small speakers out of wood, plywood, MDF etc. Tons of builders on the PE forum are making small apeakers from plywood, MDF, and other.

It makes no engineering sense that the mini Karsonators cannot be made of wood and filled with appropriate stuffing to make them sound good. (I was an engineer, but now I am a novice electronics guy, looking to learn and experiment).

Does anybody know what makes the foam enclosures suit these drivers. I can not see the foam being reflective and I can believe that the foam absorbs a lot of the rear wave.

I am interested in finding an answer, as I like to work with wood.

Maybe we need a new thread for this research so as not to hijack xrk's thread.

Help from moderators?

Myles

I think the rather thin foamcore in the vital midrange is fairly acoustically transparent vs plywood and may "de-Q cavity resonances vs stiffer and more acoustically "opaque" wood. You sure don't want a high Q front cavity resonance.

The smallest regular original Karlson was the little K8, tuned to about 95Hz. K12 tuned low 60.s, K15 upper 40's and X15 (and Acoustic control) 115BK, mid 50's.

K12 and K15 with the right drivers need no damping materials in their front chambers to sound good. I've only heard the little KR5 "Rocket" with its original table radio quality speaker. Carl had made that type with car coax and K-tube over the dome tweeter which would literally "pipe the highs out" :D The clam/klam, asymmetric-projector variety of Karlson had the speaker placed further from the aperture than the Ultra-Fidelity series, and can have more "slap-echo" artifacts.