electro voice 12TRXC - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th June 2013, 02:30 PM   #1
hunsoop is offline hunsoop  United States
diyAudio Member

Default electro voice 12TRXC

Hello there,

I just purchased a pair of EV 12TRXC 8ohms at ebay, and would like to build the enclosure. I studied about this speaker and find out that “it is integrated 3 way speaker”- http://www.electrovoice.com/downloadfile.php?i=970305 but some other documentation says it is two way full range speaker-http://hf-antenna.com/Flotsam/EV/How_to-build_a-EV-spkr_system.pdf

1. Can anyone tell me which definition is right?

Also there are two inputs in this unit – looks like one for tweeter the other for woofer,, but I am not sure how to hook it up to utilize both inputs.

2. Can anyone upload a diagram?
3. Do I need crossover(s) for woofer or/and tweeter? If yes, what would you recommend for? –

If this unit is two way full range speaker-

4. Do I need midrange horn( 8HD with 1824M driver) that is recommended by EV documentation.

Enclosure -I am planning to build 11- 14 cubic feet

5. How the outcomes will be different when the enclosure is 11 and 14 cubic feet?

I really appreciate if anyone can help! Thanks,
Attached Images
File Type: png photo 1.PNG (74.6 KB, 240 views)
File Type: png photo 2.PNG (75.8 KB, 238 views)
Old 29th June 2013, 09:28 PM   #2
GM is offline GM  United States
diyAudio Member

Greets!

Neither is technically correct, though the 3-way one is close enough since it’s an electrical LF, HF 2-way with a mechanical whizzer to span the gap between the two.

Really? I only recall one set of exposed power terminals.

Don’t have a diagram.

Yes, it should have a [basic] XO built in to protect the tweeter horn and with a wired up HF attenuator.