I built FH3's, now recommend my next "classic rock" full-ranger - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th March 2013, 03:06 AM   #1
tlarwa is offline tlarwa  United States
diyAudio Member

Default I built FH3's, now recommend my next "classic rock" full-ranger

I built a pair of Frugel-Horn Mk3's this fall, using MA CHP-70 drivers. I love them. Great for jazz, folk, etc. Now I'd like to build another set of full-rangers, likely with larger drivers, that would be my "classic rock" speakers. I find myself having to be careful to not over-drive the FH3's, and sometimes I want to crank it up more than I'm comfortable with. I like the idea of staying with a full-range design, as I'm no pro builder and have never built a crossover in my life. The simplicity of the full-range design suits me fine right now.

Any suggestions? For informational purposes, they will be used on a 12x17 dedicated listening room, and driven by an Audio Analogue Puccini SE integrated amp. Source is vinyl only. I have 8' ceilings. And I have corners to work with ... and size doesn't really matter since its a dedicated space (same with the WAF). Attached is a pic of the equipment end of the room, along with the FH3's.

Thanks for your input!

Tom
Old 24th March 2013, 03:37 AM   #2
xrk971 is online now xrk971  United States
diyAudio Member

Check out the WIBAQ thread.
The WIBAQ: TABAQ Design with Betsy K
Old 24th March 2013, 10:34 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

A step up would be 8 inch TangBand 1772's in a mass loaded transmission line! Good bass able to "rock the house" on a few good watts! Fairly simple construction, great results and not TOO expensive! I have been enjoying mine for a couple years now running a 5 watt KT88 se amp.

Larry
Old 24th March 2013, 10:47 PM   #4
diyAudio Member