Nearfield PC Speakers, which driver? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th February 2013, 12:09 PM   #1
guangui is offline guangui  Puerto Rico
diyAudio Member

Default Nearfield PC Speakers, which driver?

Though I have made a few DIY speakers I'm still a beginner. I can do the mathematics and figure things out, but when it comes to woodworking I'm in the very basics.

I am in the process of building a pair of uFonken (micro-Fonken) which are basically designed for Fostex FF85WK. The problem I have is that I want to finish these speakers ASAP, and the FF's won't be available in the USA until mid to late March. Doing some research I found Tang Band W3-1364SA to have very similar specs to Fostex FF85WK, and price is basically the same.

Do you guys think I can do the uFonken cabinets and use the Tang Band, or should I modify the box? Do you recommend another FR driver that can be used in this box? I like the uFonken enclosure looks, size, and simplicity.
Old 12th February 2013, 03:12 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

That's Planet10's design. Might wanna ask him. Not sure what can be subbed into that enclosure. May wanna grab some $9.99 buy out tang bands from parts express to hold you over until the FF85 comes back. Why are you in a rush?
Old 12th February 2013, 04:06 PM   #3
toobhed is offline toobhed  United States
diyAudio Member

I'm not sure about the feasability of subbing out the FF85wk. I'd recommend the FF85wk's are definately worth the wait for mounting in the uFonken cabinet.

I have a pair in the same cabinets now, breaking in before I finish the cabinets and am blown away by what they do as far as imaging and balance over their relavent frequency range. Unlike other Fostex's, to me they don't seem to really need the break in time.

Mario