diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Full Range (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/)
-   -   Nearfield PC Speakers, which driver? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/229878-nearfield-pc-speakers-driver.html)

guangui 12th February 2013 12:09 PM

Nearfield PC Speakers, which driver?

Though I have made a few DIY speakers I'm still a beginner. I can do the mathematics and figure things out, but when it comes to woodworking I'm in the very basics.

I am in the process of building a pair of uFonken (micro-Fonken) which are basically designed for Fostex FF85WK. The problem I have is that I want to finish these speakers ASAP, and the FF's won't be available in the USA until mid to late March. Doing some research I found Tang Band W3-1364SA to have very similar specs to Fostex FF85WK, and price is basically the same.

Do you guys think I can do the uFonken cabinets and use the Tang Band, or should I modify the box? Do you recommend another FR driver that can be used in this box? I like the uFonken enclosure looks, size, and simplicity.

tuxedocivic 12th February 2013 03:12 PM

That's Planet10's design. Might wanna ask him. Not sure what can be subbed into that enclosure. May wanna grab some $9.99 buy out tang bands from parts express to hold you over until the FF85 comes back. Why are you in a rush?

toobhed 12th February 2013 04:06 PM

I'm not sure about the feasability of subbing out the FF85wk. I'd recommend the FF85wk's are definately worth the wait for mounting in the uFonken cabinet.

I have a pair in the same cabinets now, breaking in before I finish the cabinets and am blown away by what they do as far as imaging and balance over their relavent frequency range. Unlike other Fostex's, to me they don't seem to really need the break in time.

Mario

PKNJ 12th February 2013 04:30 PM

Let's see, you're in a rush, and are unsure of your woodworking skills?