diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Full Range (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/)
-   -   Fostex Hp16 diffusers and damping. (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/228333-fostex-hp16-diffusers-damping.html)

adejacko 21st January 2013 04:11 PM

Fostex Hp16 diffusers and damping.

Hi all,
My Fostex 208E Sigma flat-pack will be arriving in a week or so. This is my first build and I want to do the best job possible.

I cannot find the HP16 diffusers that go in the bottom chamber. I found outdated links to Madisound or TeamAudio in France, who no longer sell them. Nor does Wilmslow Audio. Even the Japanese Fostex site does not stock them.

Can anyone help? Do you know of someone who has a pair lying around and wants to sell them? Or a shop that has old stock?

Also, what damping material is best to use;
a) on the back of the driver
b) on the back wall of the cc.
c) on the bottom and front lip of the enclosure (as in diagram)

One more question for the moment - is the T900A tweeter really worth it?? It costs more than the drivers, flat-pack and everything else together. If I do get the urge to splash out, I want to know that my money has been spent wisely.

Thanks. No doubt I'll have more questions as I start building them.

Scottmoose 21st January 2013 04:28 PM

I wouldn't worry about the diffusors; they were very expensive for what they were.

a, b & c: 'Best' doesn't mean much. All materials have slightly different damping properties but there's nothing mystical about any of them. BAF wadding, ultratouch, wool carpet underlay or similar work fine.