Bookshelves powered by T-amp for nearfield - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th January 2013, 09:38 PM   #1
bocosb is offline bocosb  Romania
diyAudio Member

Default Bookshelves powered by T-amp for nearfield

Hello guys, i'm new to diy and i'm researching my first speakers so i would like some guidelines:

- I want to make a pair of bookshelves which will be placed on stands on either side of my desk. The listening position will be sitting at the desk (working on the pc).
- The amp will be a T-amp, somewhere around 10w/c (already have it), source asus xonar stx from pc.
- The room is small, around 12'x9' (3.7mx2.9m). The speakers will be close to the wall about 1 feet, and the listening position in the center of the room about 4 feet from the speakers. Will add a room plan for better understanding.
- I want something easy to listen for lots of hours in a row, i listen to all types of music but mainly vocals, acoustic, jazz, classic rock.
- Atm i have 2 way 6.5'' 'regular' bass reflex speakers, aprox. 16l volume, but i could go bigger if needed, no WAF problems in here, it's my man cave

I read many threads the last 2 days and i find Mark Audio drivers appealing(but not sure about the sensitivity paired with my T-amp).. do you think it would ok for my needs? Alpair 7, 10 or 12? Or try something cheaper for my first project?
Also the variety of enclosures is confusing what would work best in my situation? (nearfield)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg room_eng.jpg (99.3 KB, 314 views)
Old 14th January 2013, 10:03 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

The reduced BSC version of this should be good :
Zaph|Audio - ZMV5 - MCM / Vifa 5" System

rgds, sreten.
Old 14th January 2013, 11:48 PM   #3
mikje is offline mikje  United States
Soakin' up the Sound!