Fostex FE87E Recommended Back Loaded Horn

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

A relative newbie here. I'm still waiting for enough free time to start my first DIY speaker build, but in the meantime, I ended up buying a pair of these Fostex horns for a really good price (I think their binding posts are worth more than what I paid!!!).

Excuse the aspect ratio... wasn't sure how to get that right...

P1060131_zpsb862ded3.jpg

P1060135_zps531ca175.jpg

The actual speaker plans can be found here:

http://www.madisound.com/pdf/fostexcabs/87e_revencl.pdf

As for the sound, it's pretty good to my ears although there is not much in terms of highs. Hard to explain, but the sound is just not as clear as I'd hoped. Bass is lacking, but that's OK as I've now hooked them up to a subwoofer, crossed at 150 Hz.

I have no idea if there is any stuffing in the speakers. I cannot see any behind the driver, and could not notice any up inside the mouth of the horn.

Any suggestions on what I could try to improve the sound?

I have no idea how many hours they have on them, so maybe some more burn-in time?

If stuffing might help, how much and where should I place it? I only really have access to the horn mouth, and behind the driver, as the speakers are all permanently glued up.

Also, does their location make much of a difference? They are currently sitting on a tallboy, but maybe on the floor would be better?

Thanks!
Pete

1 - what are you comparing to?
2 - how long have you listened to them for?

I wouldn't expect a small Fostex driver to ever be short on clarity or treble.

Sitting them on the floor would improve bass output, but even so; you're using a small driver with tiny excursion - a subwoofer will (IMO) always be required.

Chris

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
That's a great deal if you got them for less than binding posts. :)