Total newbie needs direction & suggestions... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th December 2012, 03:08 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Total newbie needs direction & suggestions...

Hey guys,
I'm VERY new here and am looking for some direction regarding my next endeavor. I'd like to build my own speakers but once I started doing the research on "DIY Speakers", I found myself more confused than when I started. I honestly had no clue that folded horns and compression drivers were even used in residential systems which is what I'd like to build the speakers for - both for musical listening and HT. Currently, I have a BOSE acoustimass 6 set up (stop lauging) but it sounds "good". I have the skill set and tools to build pretty much whatever I'd need to but don't know which way to go. The room for which I'll be building my system is just shy of 400 square feet nearly 20' x 20' (almost a perfect square) with an 8 foot ceiling. I have a standard, chip-type amplifier which is an old-school Yamaha Natural Sound with 85 Watts per channel. What types of enclosures would yield me concert level mid-bass? I would also like a suggestion on a DIY sub as I will be using this set up for HT as well. I plan on getting a separate sub amp to drive it. I'm hoping to keep the cost for the drivers and materials at or below $1000 not including the sub amp. Any thoughts??? Let me know if more info is needed. Thanks for ANY and ALL suggestions!
Pete
Old 12th December 2012, 03:30 PM   #2
von Ah is offline von Ah  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Shot in the Dark

Follow ALL advice you get from chrisb and planet10.
Go for an all-Mark-Audio HT setup.
  • Alpair 7.3 LCR front row in mid size cabinets
  • Alpair 6m rear and surrounds in small cabinets