What type should I build?...newbie here... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th November 2012, 05:35 AM   #1
Mike BB is offline Mike BB  United States
diyAudio Member

Default What type should I build?...newbie here...

Hello!

First post...I found diyaudio by stumbling across the Wild Burro Audio labs site which turned me onto building myself a pair of open baffle speakers...or something else...?

The room where the speakers will live is relatively small (12x18').

The speakers will be powered by a miniwatt N3.

So...what type of speakers should I build? It's my understanding that the design on the Wild Burro site requires more space between the wall and the speaker? Would it make more sense for me to go with a closed speaker design? I'm in a small apartment now and I'm buying a house soon but I can't imagine I'd ever have much space for a pair of speakers that need to be placed in the middle of the room.

So what I'd like help with is what kind of drivers I should buy and what kind of speakers I should build. It would be cool to use the Wild Burro speakers since he seems like a nice guy and they're made in the USA...which I think are both important.

I should also mention that I am a cabinet maker and I own a wood shop. All I need is someone to tell me what to do, I can build pretty much anything. Plans would help though...

Thank you all in advance for the help and please let me know if you need any more details.

BB
Old 24th November 2012, 06:06 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Life is full of difficult decisions....the answers are DIY

Larry
Old 24th November 2012, 07:47 AM   #3
zman01 is offline zman01  Bangladesh
diyAudio Member

Mike BB,

Wecome!

No experience with the Wild Burro Audio drivers or open baffles, but read that they need some space from the back walls.