Tips needed for CSS EL-70 enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello from Finland,
I built speakers with EL-70 about two years ago. I made my speakers using mar-kel70 plans. I like the sound with Dire Straits etc. but with heavy music they sound little too bright. Anyway, now I'm thinking about chancing my speakers a little. I'd like to build horizontal speaker with elements at left and right. It would be about 1500mm wide and it's height should be as little as possible. Also I don't want it to be deep. Why? Because it could look good.
The problem I have is that I'm no audio expert. I need opinions about enclosure deepness and height. What are minimums of those measurements? Also I'm thinking how much gap there should be between wall and enclosure? I'm using solid wood for this build.

Last edited:
Here is one picture about my idea.

Attachments

• kuva.jpg
    kuva.jpg
    41.8 KB · Views: 397
Makk,

Take a look at the Half Tower design on page 6 in the P10 Microtower planset:

http://www.frugal-phile.com/boxlib/microTower-maps-290412.pdf

I am thinking you can make one box large box and divide it into two to get 2 boxes the same size as the Half Tower - the ports can go to the front baffle of each section or on the top.

The overall size will be a few cm larger than your illustration but should be still pretty close.

If the plan is to wall mount these, then take a look at page 8.

Maybe Dave, Scott, or Chris can comment too.

The microtowers are an MLTL, - IINM the location of ports is important, and they're intended to load to boundary ( floor)

You'll note the comments on page 8 for the wall mounters include " top need 2in clearance for port"

I'd be surprised if Dave doesn't already have a sketch for something like this - or could come up with something fairly quickly.