Foam Core Board Speaker Enclosures?

Morning all! :wave:
Gonna be honest, I have NOT read all 317 pages of this thread, but I have scanned over quit a bit of it here and there.

I'm a big fan of foamcore from my RC building days, and am just getting into speaker building.
Here's my question: I have several 3" TangBand W3-593SFs that I pulled from my old Logitech Z-5500 satellites. I'm itching to try to put them to better use than the horrible plastic enclosures they've been living in for the past 12 years or so.
What would be the best home for these? I really like the TABAQ design, since it's simple, and I'm just starting out. I also see lots of love for the Karlsonator, and I'm not opposed to that if it's the best choice, but I'm not a fan of the aesthetics of those. Something about the front baffle strikes me as a bit vulgar. lol
Anyway, all comments and suggestions appreciated for what to do with these little drivers.

My main build right now is a set of MA Alpair 5.3's going into Woden Bloodhound enclosures as soon as I can get out into the shop. They're in temporary foam boxes at the moment, and sounding pretty good! :)

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member
Try the foam core Tabaq then:

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/88787-tabaq-tl-tang-band-119.html#post4556798

520845d1450860139-tabaq-tl-tang-band-tabaq-p830986-build-3.png

520846d1450860139-tabaq-tl-tang-band-tabaq-p830986-build-4.png

Thanks X, but I got impatient and started playing around with WinISD... :D
I ended up with a Franken-TABAQ-ish horror with dual drivers, about 30" tall, 4.5" wide, and 7" deep. I have no clue if it will sound like anything except hot garbage, but the sim curves looked fairly decent from what (VERY) little I know, and the build is fun at least.
I'll post a few pics once I get it done, maybe tomorrow.
Here's the output from WinISD.
WHY does this software not have any sort of export or print options?!

Attachments

• cap001.jpg
    cap001.jpg